Member Labs

INL Earns U.S. Department of Energy Sustainability Award

inl lab extracted

U.S. Deputy Secretary of Energy (DOE) Daniel Poneman has recognized a team from Idaho National Laboratory (INL) with an energy management award for its work to save taxpayers money and reduce energy consumption at laboratory buildings.

The five-member team was recognized for integrating sustainability into INL policies, standards, processes, and operations. Efforts include:

  • Coordinating the installation of energy-efficient white roofs on several INL facilities.
  • Securing INL’s first Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED) building certification.
  • Revising two building design and planning standards to include sustainability concepts.
  • Moving from fuel oil to electricity for steam heating at the Materials and Fuels Complex.
  • Increasing the availability and use of alternative fuels by more than 62 percent.

These and other activities resulted in annual cost and energy savings of more than $1.6 million, more than one million kilowatt hours of electricity, nearly 600,000 gallons of fuel oil, and about 190,000 gallons of diesel fuel.

“This award indicates INL’s commitment and progress toward sustainability,” said laboratory director John Grossenbacher. “We take sustainability very seriously, and we will continue to make energy efficiencies and greenhouse gas reductions while improving energy conservation and sustainable infrastructure investments at INL.”

In 2009, President Obama signed an executive order calling on the federal government to reduce its greenhouse gas emissions and to implement aggressive energy and water efficiency programs. In response, DOE established several goals in its annual Strategic Sustainability Performance Plan (SSPP) and set up the DOE Sustainability Performance Office to implement the goals.

The DOE Sustainability Awards recognized 31 teams and individuals for outstanding contributions managing pollution, waste, energy, water and vehicle fleets. INL was one of three teams to receive the recognition. Employees include Stephanie Austad, Kimberly Frerichs, Matthew Hammond, Christopher Ischay and Tad Pearson.

“Today’s Sustainability Award winners are leading by example, showing what’s possible when employees bring creativity, innovation and dedication to their efforts to make the Department of Energy more sustainable,” said Poneman. “The efforts undertaken by these individuals and teams are helping the Department to deliver on President Obama’s sustainability goals, while inspiring others both inside and outside of government to start investing in cost-saving clean energy technologies.”

INL is one of the DOE’s 10 multi-program national laboratories. The laboratory performs work in each of DOE’s strategic goal areas: energy, national security, science and environment. INL is the nation’s leading center for nuclear energy research and development. Day-to-day management and operation of the laboratory is the responsibility of Battelle Energy Alliance.

Member Labs